Course Name: Adult beginner

Lecturer: Yonca Blum

 

Beginner Level Turkish Lesson Plan

 

Sunday, September 13, 2015 Classes (1st week)

1. Introduction Origins and basic features of Turkish language

 

Sunday, September 20, 2015 Classes (2nd week)

2. Alphabet Turkish alphabet and sounds

 

Sunday, September 27, 2015 Classes (3rd week) Kurban Bayrami

3. Numbers Numbers and counting in Turkish language

 

Sunday, October 04, 2015 Classes (4th week)

4. Pronouns 1 Turkish pronouns, part 1

 

Sunday, October 11, 2015

NO SCHOOL -- COLUMBUS DAY

 

Sunday, October 18, 2015 Classes (5th week)

 

5. Pronouns 2 Turkish pronouns, part 2

 

Sunday, October 25, 2015 Classes (6th week)

6. Date and Time Learn how to tell the date and time in Turkish

 

Sunday, November 01, 2015 Classes(7th week)- 29 Ekim Kutlamalari - Daylight Saving ends

7. Love Express your love in Turkish

 

Sunday, November 08, 2015 Classes (8th week)

8. Antonyms Some basic antonyms

 

Sunday, November 15, 2015 Classes (9th week) -- 10 Kasim Toreni

9. Quantity Words Words to describe quantities

 

Sunday, November 22, 2015 Classes (10th week)

10. Colors Basic colors in Turkish

 

Sunday, November 29, 2015

NO SCHOOL -- Thanksgiving Break

 

Sunday, December 06, 2015 Classes (11th week)

11. Family Learn how to call family members

 

Sunday, December 13, 2015 Classes (12th week) -- Parent-Teacher Meeting

12. Fruits and vegetables Words for fruits and vegetables in Turkish

 

Sunday, December 20, 2015

NO SCHOOL -- WINTER RECESS

 

Sunday, December 27, 2015

NO SCHOOL -- WINTER RECESS

 

Sunday, January 3, 2016 Classes (13th week)

13. Body parts Words for body parts in Turkish

 

Sunday, January 10, 2016 Classes (14th week)

14. Animals Animals in Turkish

 

Sunday, January 17, 2016 Classes (15th Week) (Martin Luther’s King Day, Jr. Day)

15. Character Words to talk about character and behavior

 

Sunday, January 24, 2016 Classes (16th week)

16. House and furniture Furniture names and parts of the house

 

Sunday, January 31, 2016 Classes (17th week)

17. Illness Words and phrases related to illness

 

Sunday, February 07, 2016 Classes (18th Week)

18. Major Vowel Harmony Rules that change vowels of suffixes

 

Sunday, February 14, 2016

NO SCHOOL -- FEBRUARY RECESS

 

Sunday, February 21, 2016 Classes (19th week)

19. Minor Vowel Harmony Rules that change vowels of suffixes

 

Sunday, February 28, 2016 Classes (20th week)

20. Notes on Vowel Harmony Practical notes on Vowel Harmony

 

Sunday, March 06, 2016 Classes (21st week)

21. Vowel Rules Other rules concerning the use of vowels

 

Sunday, March 20, 2016 Classes (22nd week) Daylight Saving Time begins

22. Consonant Harmony Rules that change consonants of suffixes and the root word

 

Sunday, March 13, 2016 Classes (23rd week)

23. Infinitives and Plurals Infinitive form of verbs and plural form of nouns

 

Sunday, March 27, 2016 Classes (24th week) -- Parent-Teacher Meeting

24. Negatives Negative sentences in Turkish

 

Sunday, April 03, 2016 Classes (25th week)

25. Noun states The 5 states of nouns in Turkish

 

Sunday, April 10, 2016 Classes (26th week)

26. To be The verb to be - ´olmak´

 

Sunday, April 17, 2016

NO SCHOOL -- APRIL VACATION

 

Sunday, April 24, 2016 Classes (27th week) -- 23 Nisan Kutlamasi

27.Adjective and noun clauses Use of adjective and noun clauses in Turkish

 

Sunday May 01, 2016 Classes (28th week) Report card ceremony

 

Sunday, May 07, 2016 Annual OGMS End of Year Dinner (SATURDAY)

 

Sunday, May 08, 2016-NO SCHOOL


Sunday, May 15, 2016 - Tentative Snow Day